If I haven’t been diligent about pursuing this topic, it’s not for lack of love of Montessori education. It’s probably more because I don’t have to worry about my daughter’s schooling that allows me to not focus on the topic.  But I’ll try to expand a bit on why I still love Montessori…

Focus is one reason.  My daughter’s ability to focus, that is.  Her classrooms have always been hives of quiet (usually) activity with many bodies around her diligently working away on their individual activities. That is much like many of the workplaces I’ve been in over the years.  The most successful people in those environments are those who can focus on the task at hand even with alot of things going on around them.  I feel that her ability to work, despite distractions, is going to be a real gift as she gets older and distractions increase.

Admittedly, a room full of people trying to focus on a speaker at the front of the room could describe a traditional classroom or a business meeting. Maybe that’s why the meeting is so entrenched in business culture; it feels familiar to everyone who sat in a classroom for years. But how many of us find we do our best work–or are at our most productive–in a meeting? Maybe my daughter will hate meetings because she hasn’t had to sit for hours. Maybe that wouldn’t be such a bad thing. But I digress.

From what I read about the cutting edge tech companies, they reward for performance and encourage creative solutions and new ideas.  In the Montessori classroom, the children have certain works which must be completed each day or week. When those things are completed, there is free time to work on things the students choose. Art or reading, games or other quiet activities. There may be additional options offered which reward the students for finishing the less compelling subjects; printmaking or specific games, for example.  This structuring strikes me as being like the Google campus or Netflix corporate environment. Clearly, these companies feel that high-productivity is fostered in this way.

The goal of early childhood education is to activate the child’s own natural desire to learn.–Maria Montessori

Isn’t that what we want for our kids?  Lots of learning? Also the good work habits that create that productivity?  I want my daughter prepped for whatever work environment lies ahead in whatever field she chooses.  While Montessori isn’t for every child, I feel strongly that the Montessori classroom is giving my child that preparation better than any other model of education I’ve seen.

