Sunset behind Cathedral Rock

Sunset behind Cathedral Rock

I live in a fairly rural part of Arizona, a fairly rural state.  I have to drive an hour to shop at Target.–Of course we have a Wal-Mart, the Valley has 55,000 residents.–But coming from San Diego most recently, and other more urban areas, I did wonder if I would be content here.  When I first moved here, I joked that I would get in a lot less trouble because there were many fewer shopping temptations.  But let’s face it, if one wants to shop, one will find ways.  Mostly, I don’t.

I want to hike.  And take pictures.  And enjoy sunshine.  In other words, the Verde Valley is my personal idea of heaven in so many ways!  I am posting a few photos here to help you see why this is not an overstatement.

Red rocks in monsoon season

Red rocks in monsoon season

Coffee Pot Rock looking very noble

Coffee Pot Rock

Cathedral Rock

Cathedral Rock

